AUDITIONS for Jay Presson Allen's THE PRIME OF MISS JEAN BRODIE are coming soon! 

June 30-July 2. Find more information or let us know you'll be attending on our facebook page.

Don't miss it! Closes June 24th.

The Hudson Valley Premiere of 

Fun Home
By Lisa Kron, Jeanine Tesori, and Alison Bechdel

​Starring Ashley France, Mary Kate Barnett, Eliza Petronio, Erin Flory, Jared Allyn Decker, Alex Heinen, Lisa Delia, Dylan Tomas Kastel, Molly Lyons, and Jamison Fountain

Follow the production at @RhinebeckFunHome or on facebook

Tickets at

Rhinebeck Theatre Society is proud to present the regional premiere of this innovative new musical. Winner of the 2015 Tony award for Best Musical, Fun Home reinvents the classic coming-of-age story as it follows lesbian author Alison Bechdel’s sexual awakening and her father’s suicide through a combination of flashback, commentary, and an artist’s rendering of her own childhood memories.

The story traces Alison’s life from her youth, to her years at Oberlin College, and finally to the present. Alison, now grown, is struggling to write her own graphic autobiography. As Alison reflects on her past, she struggles to make sense of her relationship with her father, Bruce, a closeted gay man and the owner of the family business -- the Bechdel Funeral Home (“fun” home, as it’s known to young Alison and her brothers, John and Christian). As she watches her father’s self-loathing consume him, Alison recognizes her own experience of discovering, and ultimately embracing, her identity. As Fun Home progresses, Alison is drawn deeper and deeper into her memories, finally entering into them, desperate (but unable) to reverse her father’s self-destruction. An poignant and groundbreaking musical, Fun Home explores the haunting pull of memory and the power it has to shape our identity.

Alison Bechdel’s self-syndicated comic strip Dykes To Watch Out For became a subversive reference point in lesbian culture globally between 1983 to 2008. The award-winning archive of lesbian history has been called “one of the pre-eminent oeuvres in the comics genre, period.” (Ms. Magazine). In 2006 she published Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic. Time magazine named it the Best Book of 2006, describing it as “a masterpiece about two people who live in the same house but different worlds, and their mysterious debts to each other.” Alison’s comics have appeared in The New Yorker, Slate, McSweeney’s, The New York Times Book Review, and Granta. In 2014 she was named a MacArthur Fellow.

Fun Home will be presented as part of Rhinebeck Theatre Society's 2018 "Season of Women" in partnership with Hudson Valley LBGTQ Community Center.

Ellen Honig
Kirstin Horn
Heidi Johnson

This project is made possible with funds from the Decentralization Program, a regrant program of the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature and administered by Arts Mid-Hudson.

​Paula Lucas
​Patti Smith
​​Andy Weintraub
​​​Welcome to the online home of the Rhinebeck Theatre Society.​ ​Founded in 1986, RTS offers opportunities for everyone in the Hudson Valley to participate in the excitement of live theatre, both on-stage and backstage.
Russ Austin
Joe Beem
​​David Foster



Dorothy Luongo, President                Andy Crispell, Vice President

Paige Segrell, Secretary​       Donna Letteri, Treasurer

Board of Directors

Contact us!

We would love to hear from you! Just fill in this form and click Submit. We will be in touch!

Rhinebeck Theatre Society depends upon the generosity of its members, sponsors and advertisers to support its productions. 

RTS is a non-profit 501-C3 organization. All contributions are fully tax-deductible. 

​​RTS' Mission
Our mission is to entertain, educate, and enrich the Hudson Valley community through the dramatic arts. This mission is accomplished by:
· Increasing local interest in the theater arts
· Providing a creative, safe, productive environment and opportunities for all
· Promoting the performing arts in the community
· Elevating the cultural aspect of Rhinebeck
· Drawing the community closer together with shared endeavors and enjoyment

One of the Hudson Valley's Oldest and Most Highly-esteemed Community Theatre Organizations